OREGON TECH Standing Committees, Commissions, and Councils (2020-21)

Updated 2/23/21

Preamble

Education requires the oversight and management of a multitude of tasks and assignments. Shared governance at an educational institution offers the opportunity for faculty and staff to assist administrators with those tasks by providing input, recommending outcomes, and participating in operational decisions. In addition to committees appointed directly by the Faculty Senate and *ad hoc* committees created for special purposes, the Oregon Institute of Technology recognizes a number of standing committees, commissions, and councils that provide continuous support for academic leadership. These committees report to the Vice Presidents and Associate Vice Presidents of various constituencies. These administrators recommend membership and service on the committees reporting to them to the President for approval. Recommendations for membership and service on the committees reporting to Faculty Senate are made to the President of the Faculty Senate for approval.

Two types of appointment are recognized: 1) position on a committee because of job title or position (e.g., Department Chair on Academic Council); and 2) a member selected for a rotating term. In most cases, terms are intended for three-year intervals. Members may be reappointed for an additional three-year term (six years total), but it is the intention of this process to encourage broad participation and to allow faculty and staff to bring fresh perspectives and skills to their committee assignments. This is deemed especially critical for high profile assignments that impact promotion and tenure decisions. Members can be reappointed after a term off the committee.

Individuals can request consideration for membership on a particular committee at any time by petitioning the Provost or President of the Faculty Senate, for the committees reporting to administrators and Faculty Senate, respectively. The Office of the Provost will affirm membership and notify appointees for the succeeding academic year before the end of the spring term, allowing faculty and staff to know their respective assignments before returning in the fall. Appointed members have staggered terms so that some membership continuity is present.

The academic community recognizes the importance of committee assignments and the role it plays in shared governance. However, committees that are unwieldy in size often have difficulty in meeting or reaching a quorum. Members who are regularly absent can be removed from a committee, at the request of the committee Chair, to the appropriate reporting executive. Likewise, a Chair who is deemed inefficient and unable to organize committee business can be removed at the request of committee members to the appropriate reporting executive. Assignment to a committee should be regarded as a privilege and responsibility.

Fiscal Operations Advisory Council

The Fiscal Operations Advisory Council (FOAC) is a joint council of faculty, administrative staff, and students for the purpose of advising the President on budget and financial matters. The Council will participate in the General Operating Fund budget planning process, review the call for budget development from the President, and recommend fiscal management priorities to align with the strategic goals of Oregon Tech considering both the long-range fiscal priorities and budget planning as well as immediate fiscal and budgetary issues. It will review the institution's annual budget and advise the President on the development of new budget initiatives. As needed, it will review and advise on the format for reporting the annual budget to the campus community. The Council will function as an integral group in strategic planning activities, with a university-wide perspective.

Members of the Council include the Provost, the Vice Presidents for Finance and Administration and Student Affairs, the Vice Provost for Research and Academic Affairs, three committee members selected from the University staff and administration appointed by the President, a member of SenEx appointed by the Faculty Senate President, a representative of Administrative Council appointed by the president of Administrative Council, a representative of the Budget and Resource Planning office appointed by the Vice President for Finance and Administration, the ASOIT Presidents (or designee), and four senior faculty members appointed jointly by the President and the Faculty Senate President. The Faculty Senate President will advance at least 6 names annually to the President for consideration. The chair is appointed by the President.

(2021) Chair: Richard Bailey, Management, ETM Joanna Mott, Provost and Vice President, Academic Affairs John Harman, Vice President, Finance and Administration Erin Foley, Vice President, Student Affairs and Dean of Students Abdy Afjeh, Vice Provost, Research and Academic Affairs, Portland-Metro Connie Atchley, Associate Vice President and Chief Information Officer, IT Services Ken Sartain, Academic Affairs Budget Director SenEx: Christopher Syrnyk, Vice President, Faculty Senate Jolyn Dahlvig, Co-Chair, Administrative Council, Portland-Metro Stephanie Pope, Assistant Vice President, Financial Operations Mason Wichmann, President, ASOIT, Klamath Falls Peter Wantuck, President, ASOIT, Portland-Metro (2022) Faculty 1: Dawn Lowe-Wincentsen, Library, Portland-Metro (2022) Faculty 2: Todd Breedlove, Computer Systems Engineering Technology, ETM (2023) Faculty 3: Mason Terry, Electrical Eng. & Renewable Energy, ETM (2021) Faculty 4: David Hammond, Applied Mathematics, HAS, Portland-Metro