General Education Advisory Council

Reporting Line

The General Education Advisory Council (GEAC) reports to the Provost.

Membership Composition

The council composition is determined by the Provost. Currently, this includes the Associate Vice Provost of Academic Excellence; the Dean of HAS; a representative from each ISLO committee; a representative of the Faculty Senate Academic Standards Committee; faculty representing both colleges and campuses; one representative from the Honors Program; and other members as needed to ensure adequate representation.

Responsible parties for specific appointments or recommendations:

- Associate Vice Provost of Academic Excellence recommendation of GEAC members to Provost
- Provost faculty; chair (2-year term), may be reappointed; co-chair (from GEAC membership to support continuity during the last year of a chair's term)

Council Responsibilities

- 1. Make recommendations concerning the structure of the bachelor's degree general education program.
- 2. Consult with Department Chairs to frame that structure to support student success in achieving Oregon Tech's Institutional Student Learning Outcomes (ISLOs). The Provost will support the committee's work and provide appropriate resources to achieve these ends.

Council Members

Position	Term	Name	Department/Division
Faculty 7, PM, Chair	2022-25	Andria Fultz	Communication
Faculty 1, Honors Rep.	2024-27	Ben Bunting	Humanities/Social Sciences
Faculty 2	2022-25	Ed Clint	Humanities/Social Sciences
Faculty 3	2024-27	Andrea McCracken	Communication
Faculty 4	2024-27	Travis Lund	Natural Sciences
Faculty 5	2024-27	Phil Howard	Computer Systems Eng. Tech.
Faculty 6	2024-27	Thomas Kivatinos	Humanities/Social Sciences
Faculty 8 - CT Rep.	2022-25	Krista Beaty	Dental Hygiene
Faculty 9 - QLIA Rep.	2023-26	David Hammond	Applied Mathematics
DPE Rep.	2023-26	Jennifer Wilson	DICE
Assoc. Vice Provost	2024-25	Linus Yu	Acad. Affairs/Acad. Excellence
Dean of HAS (Int.)	2024-25	Denise Seabert	Academic Affairs
Academic Standards Rep.	2024-25	TBD	Faculty Senate