

Oregon Tech President's Council Presdient's Conference Room, Snell Hall May 22, 2018 4:00 – 5:35 p.m.

Oregon Tech President's Council Minutes

Members Present:

Dr. Kuleck, Sandra Fox, Josie Hudspeth, Dr. Thaemert, Hallie Neupert, Suzette Yaezenko, Faith Lee, Erika Veth, Dr. Jones, Adria Paschal, Associate Dean Moravec appeared in lieu of Dean LeAnn Maupin, Dean Di Saunders (Skype), Brian Fox (phone)

Others Present: Dr. Naganathan, Stuart Sockman, David Groff, Pamela Grove

Call to Order:

Chair Kuleck called the meeting to order at 4:02 p.m.

Opening Remarks - Dr. Naganathan

Dr. Naganathan shared the upcoming meeting schedule and process for policy review and approval as well as outlined his expectations regarding the purpose of President's Council.

Dr. Kuleck shared a brief update regarding shared governance.

Old Business:

OIT-20-035 Post-tenure Review

Dr. Thaemert provided a brief summary of this policy and indicated that it was reviewed and approved at the last President's Council meeting held. In his opinion this policy has been acted on by President's Council and did not require a second president's council review.

Suggestion to move all policies into a consistent policy format. In addition, the compensation needs to be addressed/discussed in a future revision.

Dr. Thaemert moved to approve for president's signature OIT-20-035 Post-tenure Review as presented with minor grammar changes. Erika Veth seconded the motion. With all members present voting aye, the motion passed unanimously.

OIT-20-030 Indefinite Tenure Selection

Dr. Thaemert provide a brief summary of this policy and indicated that it was also reviewed and approved at a previous President's Council Meeting making technical adjustments to change OIT to Oregon Tech and include the OARS.

Dr. Thaemert moved to approve for president's signature OIT-20-030 Indefinite Tenure Selection as presented with minor change. **Hallie Neupert** seconded the motion.

Suzette Yaezenko made a recommendation to get a legal opinion regarding striking the timeline set forth in this policy. **Dr. Thaemert** explained the thinking of the Faculty Senate that the timelines could change anyway, without the language.

Brian Fox moved to amend the original motion to approve for president's signature OIT-20-030 Indefinite Tenure Selection to reinstate the language retaining the current timeline. **Suzette Yaezenko** seconded the motion.

There was discussion concerning the matter.

Brian Fox amended his motion to amend the original motion to approve for president's signature OIT-20-030 Indefinite Tenure Selection to add a 90-day limit on the extension with notice to the affected faculty. Suzette Yaezenko again seconded the motion. With all members present voting aye, the motion to amend Dr. Thaemert's motion passed unanimously.

As to Dr. Thaemert's amended motion, to approve for president's signature OIT-20-030 Indefinite Tenure Selection, adding language allowing the Dean or Provost to modify the timeline if either determines a reasonable need to do so, but not by greater than 90 days and with notice to the affected faculty, with all members present voting aye, the amended motion passed unanimously.

New Business

OIT-21-030 Department Chair Appointment, Selection and Evaluation

Dr. Kuleck shared a brief history of the revisions to this policy. Changes recommended are associated with the Deans role, primary pieces of the policy reviewed and approved by Welfare, Faculty Senate, etc.

Sandra Fox moved to approve for president's signature OIT-21-030 Department Chair Appointment, Selection and Evaluation. Jim Jones seconded the motion. Discussion.

Sandra Fox moved to amend the original motion and suggested that President's Council refer a redlined version of OIT-21-030 Department Chair Appointment, Selection and Evaluation to faculty senate for review and comment by June 6 and resubmit for consideration at the next President's Council meeting scheduled on June 14; Jim Jones seconded the motion. With all members present voting aye, the motion passed unanimously.

OIT-20-4XX Rank and Promotion for Non-tenure Track Instructional Faculty

Dr. Thaemert and **Dr. Kuleck** provided a brief history and clarification of this new policy and there was some confusion as to which policy should be considered.

Sandra Fox moved to send back OIT-XX-XXX Rank and Promotion for Non-tenure Track Instructional Faculty to Faculty Senate for review and comment by June 6 and resubmit for consideration at the next President's Council meeting scheduled on June 14; Josie Hudspeth seconded the motion. With all members present voting aye, the motion passed unanimously.

OIT-13-012 Advanced Placement

Dr. Thaemert provided a brief update regarding the OIT-13-012 Advance Placement Policy and stated that this policy is not necessary as Advanced Placement is noted in other campus policies.

Dr. Thaemert moved to delete OIT-12-012 Advancement Placement Policy; Josie Hudspeth seconded the motion. With all members present voting aye, the motion passed unanimously.

OIT-XX-XXX Drone Policy (New)

Brian Fox provided a brief overview of the new proposed Drone Policy regarding the federal regulations, and federal aviation for use of drones on campus.

Jim Jones moved to send the proposed OIT-XX-XXX UAS/Drone Policy back to the sponsoring group to include updated FAA regulations as well as review by Faculty Senate, Academic Council, Administrative Council, Executive Staff, and ASOIT; Josie Hudspeth seconded the motion. With all members present voting aye, the motion passed unanimously.

Future meeting schedule:

- a. Thursday, June 14, 2018 2pm
- b. Thursday, October 11, 2018 2pm
- c. Thursday, January 10, 2019 2pm
- d. Thursday, March 14, 2019 2pm
- e. Thursday, May 16, 2019 2pm
- f. Thursday, June 13, 2019 2pm

Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 5:35 p.m.