Online | Degrees & Programs | State Authorization

State Authorization


Many students at Oregon Tech use Federal Financial Aid programs to pay for school. Re-authorization of the Higher Education Act included changes which requires institutions delivering online programs to other states to comply with that state’s regulations governing the delivery of these online programs. This page lists the states that Oregon Tech is authorized to deliver online programs.

State Authorization Regulation

Chapter 34, §600.9(c)

"If an institution is offering postsecondary education through distance or correspondence education to students in a State in which it is not physically located or in which it is otherwise subject to State jurisdiction as determined by the State, the institution must meet any State requirements for it to be legally offering distance or correspondence education in that State. An institution must be able to document to the Secretary the State's approval upon request." (Authority: 20 U.S.C. 1001 and 1002)



Oregon Tech is regionally accredited by the Northwest Commission on Colleges and Universities (NWCCU). The Oregon State Board of Higher Education has authorized the University to offer undergraduate and graduate level certificates, baccalaureate, and master’s degrees. Information regarding complaint process can be found on their NWCCU website.

NC-SARA Approved Institution logo

SARA Authorized States

As of January 2015, Oregon Tech has been accepted as an institutional participant in the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (NC-SARA) initiative which has resulted in increased access to online learning at Oregon Tech.

Oregon Tech Online is now accepting students for all programs from the following SARA states: Alaska, Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Nevada, Arizona, Montana, North Dakota, Colorado, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Missouri, Louisiana, West Virginia, Virginia, Ohio​Pennsylvania, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Vermont, Wyoming, Iowa, Tennessee, Arkansas, Oklahoma, Alabama, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Mississippi, Texas, Maine, Delaware and North Carolina, New York, Utah, Connecticut, Florida, New Jersey, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington D.C., and Wisconsin.

In the coming year, many more states will likely be accepted into the NC-SARA initiative. Updates are made as soon as states are accepted and can be verified by checking:  Find more information about the benefits of SARA here:

Non-SARA States Authorization Status

Listed below are states not currently participating in SARA and Oregon Tech’s current status of authorization to offer online education in each.

California: Oregon Tech is currently accepting students into all programs and does not need to apply for authorization in this non-SARA states. 

Massachusetts: Oregon Tech is authorized to deliver online education in Massachusetts EXCEPT in Radiologic Science, Polysomnographic Technology, and Clinical Sleep Health Programs. 

Complaint Resolution Contacts by State

Regulations require us to provide prospective and current students with contact information for filing complaints. Students residing in states that are not participating in the NC-SARA initiative should select their state of residence from the drop-down menu below to be connected with the appropriate agency in the state where the student resides.

Students residing in Oregon or a participating NC-SARA state (see above) can refer to the following links to file a complaint against Oregon Tech: Complaint Process and form

Hands-on education for real-world achievement.

Oregon Tech Online
3201 Campus Drive
Klamath Falls, OR 97601
866.497.0008 |

Connect with us:

facebook youtube linkedin
University Accolades and Rankings

Sitemap | Technical Support | Â© 2018 Oregon Institute of Technology. All rights reserved.